Circular Business Hub Luxembourg Luxembourg is a testbed for circular business solutions

As more countries recognise the need to move to a Circular Economy, Luxembourg has already positioned itself internationally as a CE hub, raising its visibility through a series of initiatives over the last five years. Their shared aim is to raise the circular profile of Luxembourg companies as well as attract the investment and technology needed to accelerate the Circular Economy, and to foster international collaboration.

Indeed, thanks to its good social, institutional and economic connectivity, as well as its high- performing ICT and financial sectors, Luxembourg is a promising testbed for emerging CE business models

By supporting new business activities, setting standards, promoting the circular concept beyond our borders, and working with others, Luxembourg can establish itself a centre of excellence in this new economy. The examples below illustrate the potential of the Circular Hub Luxembourg, more examples are featured in the section actions and projects.

For more information on circular business and investment opportunities, please visit the Luxembourg Trade & Invest Contact Point.

Supporting business

As with any industry hub, a key feature is the business support available to encourage a cluster of companies to develop. Together, Luxembourg’s ministries for the economy and finance are looking at ways to create a business environment that will help companies offering Circular Economy products and services to flourish.

Separately, the government has also introduced an increase in the subsidies available to companies that join its Covid-19 economic relaunch programme. In addition to the 30% subsidy for a qualifying business development project, a further 20% subsidy is available if the project is helping to create a Circular Economy in the Grand Duchy.

Setting standards

For the industrial sector, Luxembourg is helping to develop standards for the Circular Economy by creating the Product Circularity Data Sheet. The PCDS is designed to be a template for reliable data about a product’s circular properties. Launched in 2019, the initiative is supported by more than 50 companies from 12 European countries, is intended to lay the foundations for a future international standard and to make Luxembourg synonymous with the Circular Economy at a global level.

Various ministres in Luxembourg are involved in developing guidlines for making economic activity areas more circular, thereby creating a favorable 'industrial ecology' framework for companies. 

Boosting knowledge

Another strategy for promoting the Grand Duchy as a sustainability hub is the staging of events for international audiences. During the country’s presidency of the Council of the European Union, Luxembourg hosted a conference on 'Financing the Circular Economy' in 2015, simultaneously releasing a report on the subject that had been co-produced with the European Investment Bank. Two years later, Luxembourg hosted a three-day 'Circular Economy Hot Spot' event to showcase pilot projects to some 200 delegates from around the world. In 2018 and 2019, the Circular Economy was the main theme of state visits by the Netherlands and Belgium.

Cross-border collaboration

Occasions like these reflect the importance of dialogue with our key partners. Since 2016, Luxembourg has also been promoting this at a regional level through an initiative that brings together companies, universities and government bodies in the Greater Region. Designed to support firms in the environmental tech industry, the Greater Green initiative is co-funded by the EU’s Interreg programme.

Greater Green covers the Circular Economy and recycling, among other areas, and aims to help SMEs in Rhineland-Palatinate, Saarland, Lorraine, Wallonia and Luxembourg to create new products and to access new markets. The common thread in all its projects is a focus on innovation and cross-border cooperation. More broadly, Luxembourg also wants to encourage collaboration among citizens, cross-border municipalities and policymakers to develop common solutions to the challenges of the Circular Economy.

Last update

Luxemburg als "Circular Business Hub" Luxemburg als Drehscheibe für Geschäftsmodelle der Kreislaufwirtschaft

Während weitere Länder die Notwendigkeit des Übergangs zur Kreislaufwirtschaft erkennen, hat sich Luxemburg bereits international als Zentrum der Kreislaufwirtschaft positioniert und seine Sichtbarkeit in den letzten fünf Jahren durch eine Reihe von Initiativen erhöht. Das gemeinsame Ziel besteht darin, das Profil der luxemburgischen Unternehmen im Bereich der Kreislaufwirtschaft zu schärfen, die für die Beschleunigung der Kreislaufwirtschaft erforderlichen Investitionen und Technologien anzuziehen und die internationale Zusammenarbeit zu fördern.

Dank seiner guten sozialen, institutionellen und wirtschaftlichen Vernetzung sowie seines leistungsstarken ICT und Finanzsektors ist Luxemburg ein vielversprechendes Testumfeld für neue Geschäftsmodelle der Kreislaufwirtschaft.

Durch das Unterstützen neuer Geschäftsaktivitäten, durch Förderung des Kreislaufkonzepts auch jenseits unserer Grenzen und durch die Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Akteuren kann sich Luxemburg als Exzellenzzentrum in dieser neuen Wirtschaft etablieren.

Die folgenden Beispiele veranschaulichen das Potenzial des Circular Hub Luxembourg, weitere Beispiele finden Sie demnächst im Abschnitt Aktionen und Projekte.

Für weitere Informationen über Geschäfts- und Investitionsmöglichkeiten zur Kreislaufwirtschaft in Luxemburg besuchen Sie bitte die Luxembourg Trade & Invest Kontaktstelle.

Unterstützung für Unternehmen

Wie bei jedem Geschäftszentrum ist die öffentliche Unterstützung der Unternehmen ein wesentliches Merkmal, um die Entwicklung von innovativen Clustern zu fördern. Gemeinsam suchen die luxemburgischen Ministerien für Wirtschaft und Finanzen nach Möglichkeiten, ein Geschäftsumfeld zu schaffen, welches Unternehmen mit Produkten und Dienstleistungen der Kreislaufwirtschaft zum Erfolg verhilft.

Die Regierung hat ebenfalls eine Erhöhung der Subventionen für Unternehmen eingeführt, die an dem staatlichen Covid-19-Programm zur Erholung der Wirtschaft teilnehmen. Zusätzlich zu der 30-prozentigen Subvention für ein förderungsfähiges Unternehmensentwicklungsprojekt ist eine weitere 20-prozentige Subvention möglich, wenn das Projekt zur Umsetzung der Kreislaufwirtschaft im Großherzogtum beiträgt.

Normierung

Für den Industriesektor hilft Luxemburg bei der Entwicklung von Normen für die Kreislaufwirtschaft, indem es das Product Circularity Data Sheet (PCDS) erstellt. Das PCDS ist ein Vorlage für die Bereitstellung zuverlässiger Daten zu den Kreislaufeigenschaften eines Produkts . Die 2019 gestartete Initiative wird von mehr als 50 Unternehmen aus 12 europäischen Ländern unterstützt und soll den Grundstein für eine zukünftign internationale Norm legen und Luxemburg auf globaler Ebene zum Synonym für die Kreislaufwirtschaft machen.

Verschiedene luxemburgische Ministerien sind an der Erarbeitung von Leitlinien für die Kreislaufwirtschaft beteiligt und schaffen so günstige Rahmenbedingungen für Unternehmen. 

Wissen fördern

Eine weitere Strategie zur Positionierung des Großherzogtums als Zentrum für Nachhaltigkeit sind Veranstaltungen für ein internationales Publikum. Während der luxemburgischen EU-Ratspräsidentschaft veranstaltete das Land 2015 eine Konferenz zum Thema "Finanzierung der Kreislaufwirtschaft" und veröffentlichte gleichzeitig eine Studie zu diesem Thema, der in Zusammenarbeit mit der Europäischen Investitionsbank erstellt wurde. Zwei Jahre später veranstaltete Luxemburg eine dreitägige "Circular Economy Hot Spot"-Tour, auf der den rund 200 Delegierten aus der ganzen Welt Pilotprojekte vorstellt wurden. In den Jahren 2018 und 2019 war die Kreislaufwirtschaft das Hauptthema bei Staatsvisiten der Niederlande und Belgiens.

Grenzüberschreitende Zusammenarbeit

Anlässe wie diese zeigen, wie wichtig der Dialog mit unseren wichtigsten Partnern ist. Seit 2016 fördert Luxemburg diesen auch auf regionaler Ebene durch eine Initiative, die Unternehmen, Universitäten und staatliche Stellen in der Großregion zusammenbringt. Die Greater Green-Initiative soll Unternehmen der Umwelttechnologiebranche unterstützen und wird durch das Interreg-Programm der EU kofinanziert.

Greater Green deckt unter anderem die Bereiche Kreislaufwirtschaft und Recycling ab und soll KMUs in Rheinland-Pfalz, dem Saarland, Lothringen, Wallonien und Luxemburg dabei helfen, neue Produkte zu entwickeln und neue Märkte zu erschließen. Allen Projekten gemeinsam ist der Fokus auf Innovation und grenzüberschreitende Zusammenarbeit. Darüber hinaus möchte Luxemburg die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Bürgern, grenzüberschreitenden Gemeinden und politischen Entscheidungsträgern fördern, um gemeinsame Lösungen für die Herausforderungen der Kreislaufwirtschaft zu entwickeln.

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am