Sustainable development The circular economy = an important tool for achieving key sustainable development goals

The Circular Economy has the support of politicians, scientists and environmental groups around the world. Plans to deliver it are central to the way the European Union and the United Nations see the future of our economies - and they are key to the Luxembourg government’s agenda for the years ahead. A comprehensive Circular Economy Strategy has been drawn up and is being rolled out through a series of policies and projects.

For the European Commission, its new Circular Economy Action Plan is a cornerstone of the European Green Deal, Europe’s new agenda for sustainable growth. Published in 2020, the plan estimates that Circular Economy principles could create 700,000 new jobs by 2030, while also helping the EU to achieve its target of being carbon neutral by 2050.

Strong support from the EU

Underpinning the plan is a clear willingness to use legislation, a good indicator of the EU’s determination on the issue. While much of its work will be to develop policy guidelines, the EU’s Ecodesign Directive, which now regulates the energy efficiency of products such as domestic appliances, is just one example of the Commission using the law to drive change. A first action plan for a Circular Economy was launched in 2015 with 54 different actions and was revised in 2020 under the umbrella of the EU’s Green Deal. The draft regulation on batteries, for example, clearly points to a Circular Economy, a destination already defined for the EU’s waste directives – which were accompanied in Luxembourg by the launch of the ‘Null Offall’ (Zero Waste) strategy. Such measures are statements of intent by the bloc to move towards a Circular Economy.

The EU’s approach is part of a broader consensus that includes the United Nations and its 17 Sustainable Development Goals. Many of these share the same objectives as the Circular Economy, particularly in terms of our use of natural resources, combatting climate change and encouraging sustainable economic growth. In particular, improving the flows and stocks of raw materials, components and products will play an important part in managing our resources more effectively. The goals were agreed in 2015 by all UN members, including Luxembourg, with a target date for delivery in 2030. The Government has adopted its plan for sustainable development and is striving to deliver those goals in Luxembourg, working closely with the private sector and civil society.

A set of guiding principles for the Agenda 2030

The current Circular Economy strategy builds on previous efforts to pursue sustainable development goals in the Grand Duchy and will take the country to the next level. As a first step, a set of founding principles for a Circular Economy in Luxembourg, in line with UN’s Sustainable Development Goals, has been defined by the Higher Council for Sustainable Development (CSDD). There are seven of these principles, wich largely support the national Circular Economy strategy:

  1. create economic, social and environmental value;
  2. be systemic and holistic; 
  3. respect biological and technological cycles; 
  4. contribute to health, well-being and create positive impacts; 
  5. be regenerative and restorative; 
  6. prioritise diversity; 
  7. act locally and show solidarity.

Luxembourg is determined to succeed with its ambitions for a Circular Economy. Our commitment reflects the growing momentum behind this economic model, both within the EU and beyond. Our highly connected economy and transport links with the broader region make our country an ideal location, and your government is ready to play its part.

Last update

Nachhaltige Entwicklung Die Kreislaufwirtschaft = ein wichtiges Instrument zum Erreichen der Nachhaltigkeitsziele

Die Kreislaufwirtschaft wird von Politikern, Wissenschaftlern und Umweltgruppen in aller Welt unterstützt. Sowohl für die Europäische Union wie auch für die Vereinten Nationen ist die Umsetzung der Kreislaufwirtschaft von zentraler Bedeutung für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung. Diese Pläne stehen auch oben auf der Agenda der Luxemburger Regierung. Eine umfassende Strategie zur Kreislaufwirtschaft wurde ausgearbeitet und wird umgesetzt mittels zahlreicher Aktionen und Projekte.

Die EU-Kommission sieht ihren neuen Aktionsplan für die Kreislaufwirtschaft als Eckstein des europäischen Grünen Deal, der die neue Agenda Europas für nachhaltiges Wachstum beschreibt. Laut Schätzungen des 2020 veröffentlichten Plans könnten die Prinzipien der Kreislaufwirtschaft bis 2030 insgesamt 700'000 neue Arbeitsplätze schaffen und zugleich der EU helfen, ihr Ziel der CO2-Neutralität bis 2050 zu erreichen.

Starke internationale Unterstützung

Untermauert wird der Plan durch die deutliche Bereitschaft der europäischen Kommission, einen starken gesetzlichen Rahmen zu schaffen. Das ist ein guter Indikator dafür, wie entschlossen die EU das Thema angeht. Die Ökodesign-Richtlinie der EU, die aktuell die Energieeffizienz von Produkten wie Haushaltsgeräten regelt, ist nur ein Beispiel dafür, dass die Kommission auf die Gesetzgebung zurückgreift, um den Wandel voranzutreiben. Ein erster Aktionsplan für die Kreislaufwirtschaft mit 54 Maßnahmen wurde 2015 aufgelegt und 2020 im Rahmen des Grünen Deal der EU überarbeitet. Der Entwurf einer Verordnung zu Batterien weist z. B. deutlich in Richtung einer Kreislaufwirtschaft. Dieses Ziel wurde bereits mit den EU Direktiven des Kreislaufwirtschaftpakets definiert, deren Umsetzung in Luxemburg durch die „Null Offall“ Strategie (‘Null Abfall’) begleitet wird.

Der EU-Ansatz ist Teil eines breiteren Handlungsplans, zu dem die 17 Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung der Vereinten Nationen gehören. Viele dieser Ziele sind mit denen der Kreislaufwirtschaft identisch, insbesondere im Hinblick auf die Nutzung natürlicher Ressourcen, den Kampf gegen den Klimawandel und die Förderung eines nachhaltigen Wirtschaftswachstums. Eine wichtige Rolle für die bessere Bewirtschaftung unserer Ressourcen wird die kreislaufgerechte Gestaltung der Ströme und Lager ("flows and stocks") von Materialien, Komponenten und Produkten spielen. 2015 wurden die Ziele von allen UN-Mitgliedern einschließlich Luxemburg vereinbart. Die Regierung hat ihren Plan für nachhaltige Entwicklung angenommen und bemüht sich, diese Ziele in Luxemburg wie vorgesehen bis 2030 zu erreichen. Dazu arbeitet sie eng mit dem privaten Sektor und mit der Zivilgesellschaft zusammen.

Leitlinien für die Agenda 2030

Die derzeitige Kreislaufwirtschaft-Strategie stützt sich auf frühere Bemühungen des Großherzogtums zum Erreichen der Nachhaltigkeitsziele und wird helfen, die nächste Stufe zu erreichen. In einem ersten Schritt definierte der nationale Nachhaltigkeitsrat (CSDD) Grundprinzipien für eine Kreislaufwirtschaft in Luxemburg, die im Einklang mit den UN-Zielen für nachhaltige Entwicklung stehen. Die sieben Grundsätze lauten:

  1. einen wirtschaftlichen, sozialen und ökologischen Wert schaffen;
  2. systematisch und ganzheitlich denken;
  3. den biologischen und technologischen Zyklus beachten;
  4. zu Gesundheit und Wohlergehen beitragen;
  5. regenerativ und restaurativ handeln;
  6. der Artenvielfalt Priorität geben;
  7. lokal und solidarisch handeln.

Luxemburg ist entschlossen, seine ehrgeizigen Ziele für eine Kreislaufwirtschaft erfolgreich umzusetzen. Unser Engagement spiegelt die wachsende Dynamik dieses Wirtschaftsmodells in und außerhalb der EU wider. Unsere stark vernetzte Wirtschaft und die guten Verbindungen in die Großregion machen unser Land zu einem idealen Ort für die Kreislaufwirtschaft. Die Regierung ist bereit, ihren Beitrag zu leisten.

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am