Circular Business Hub Luxembourg Luxembourg is a testbed for circular business solutions

As more countries recognise the need to move to a Circular Economy, Luxembourg has already positioned itself internationally as a CE hub, raising its visibility through a series of initiatives over the last five years. Their shared aim is to raise the circular profile of Luxembourg companies as well as attract the investment and technology needed to accelerate the Circular Economy, and to foster international collaboration.

Indeed, thanks to its good social, institutional and economic connectivity, as well as its high- performing ICT and financial sectors, Luxembourg is a promising testbed for emerging CE business models

By supporting new business activities, setting standards, promoting the circular concept beyond our borders, and working with others, Luxembourg can establish itself a centre of excellence in this new economy. The examples below illustrate the potential of the Circular Hub Luxembourg, more examples are featured in the section actions and projects.

For more information on circular business and investment opportunities, please visit the Luxembourg Trade & Invest Contact Point.

Supporting business

As with any industry hub, a key feature is the business support available to encourage a cluster of companies to develop. Together, Luxembourg’s ministries for the economy and finance are looking at ways to create a business environment that will help companies offering Circular Economy products and services to flourish.

Separately, the government has also introduced an increase in the subsidies available to companies that join its Covid-19 economic relaunch programme. In addition to the 30% subsidy for a qualifying business development project, a further 20% subsidy is available if the project is helping to create a Circular Economy in the Grand Duchy.

Setting standards

For the industrial sector, Luxembourg is helping to develop standards for the Circular Economy by creating the Product Circularity Data Sheet. The PCDS is designed to be a template for reliable data about a product’s circular properties. Launched in 2019, the initiative is supported by more than 50 companies from 12 European countries, is intended to lay the foundations for a future international standard and to make Luxembourg synonymous with the Circular Economy at a global level.

Various ministres in Luxembourg are involved in developing guidlines for making economic activity areas more circular, thereby creating a favorable 'industrial ecology' framework for companies. 

Boosting knowledge

Another strategy for promoting the Grand Duchy as a sustainability hub is the staging of events for international audiences. During the country’s presidency of the Council of the European Union, Luxembourg hosted a conference on 'Financing the Circular Economy' in 2015, simultaneously releasing a report on the subject that had been co-produced with the European Investment Bank. Two years later, Luxembourg hosted a three-day 'Circular Economy Hot Spot' event to showcase pilot projects to some 200 delegates from around the world. In 2018 and 2019, the Circular Economy was the main theme of state visits by the Netherlands and Belgium.

Cross-border collaboration

Occasions like these reflect the importance of dialogue with our key partners. Since 2016, Luxembourg has also been promoting this at a regional level through an initiative that brings together companies, universities and government bodies in the Greater Region. Designed to support firms in the environmental tech industry, the Greater Green initiative is co-funded by the EU’s Interreg programme.

Greater Green covers the Circular Economy and recycling, among other areas, and aims to help SMEs in Rhineland-Palatinate, Saarland, Lorraine, Wallonia and Luxembourg to create new products and to access new markets. The common thread in all its projects is a focus on innovation and cross-border cooperation. More broadly, Luxembourg also wants to encourage collaboration among citizens, cross-border municipalities and policymakers to develop common solutions to the challenges of the Circular Economy.

Last update

Circular Business Hub Luxembourg Le Luxembourg se positionne comme un pôle de l’économie circulaire

Tandis que de plus en plus de pays reconnaissent la nécessité d’adopter une économie circulaire, le Luxembourg s’est déjà positionné au niveau international comme un pôle en la matière et a, au cours des cinq dernières années, renforcé sa visibilité par une série d’initiatives. Toutes ont pour objectif d’attirer les investissements et la technologie nécessaires à l’économie circulaire, mais aussi de favoriser la collaboration internationale.

En effet,  grâce à sa bonne connectivité sociale, institutionnelle et économique, ainsi qu'à ses secteurs TIC et financier très performants, le Luxembourg est un banc d'essai prometteur pour les modèles commerciaux émergents de l'EC.

En soutenant de nouvelles activités commerciales, en promouvant le concept circulaire au-delà de nos frontières et en collaborant avec d’autres pays et régions, le Luxembourg veut se positionner comme un centre d’excellence au sein de cette nouvelle économie. Les exemples ci-dessous illustrent le potentiel du Luxembourg, en tant que pôle de l'économie circulaire. De plus amples informations sont disponibles dans la rubrique secteurs et projets.

Pour plus d'informations sur les possibilités d'investissement et de support à l'entrepreneuriat circulaire, veuillez visiter le point de contact de Luxembourg Trade & Invest.

Soutien aux entreprises

Comme pour tout pôle industriel, un des éléments essentiels est le soutien disponible pour favoriser le développement d’un cluster d’entreprises. Ensemble, les ministères luxembourgeois de l’Économie et des Finances recherchent les moyens de créer un environnement d’affaires qui aidera les entreprises proposant des produits et des services d’économie circulaire à prospérer.

Par ailleurs, le gouvernement a également introduit une augmentation des subventions disponibles pour les entreprises qui rejoignent son programme de relance économique post-COVID-19. Outre une subvention de 30 %, les projets de développement d’entreprise éligibles peuvent également, pour autant qu’ils contribuent à la mise en place d’une économie circulaire au Grand-Duché, bénéficier d’une subvention supplémentaire de 20 %.

Élaborer des normes

En ce qui concerne le secteur industriel, le Luxembourg contribue, avec la création de la Product Circularity Data Sheet, à élaborer des normes en matière d’économie circulaire. La PCDS est conçue pour être un modèle de données fiables sur les propriétés circulaires d’un produit. Lancée en 2019, cette initiative bénéficie du soutien de plus de 50 entreprises provenant de douze pays européens et vise à jeter les bases d’une future norme internationale. À l’instar d’autres initiatives, son objectif est de faire du Luxembourg un synonyme d’économie circulaire au niveau mondial.

Autre exemple: plusieurs ministères luxembourgeois participent à l'élaboration de lignes directrices visant à rendre les zones d'activité économique plus circulaires, créant ainsi un cadre favorable à "l'écologie industrielle" pour les entreprises.

Renforcer les connaissances

Une autre stratégie de promotion du Grand-Duché en tant que pôle de l'économie circulaire consiste à organiser des événements à l’intention d’un public international. Le Luxembourg a ainsi accueilli en 2015, au cours de sa présidence au Conseil de l’Union européenne, une conférence sur le Financement de l'économie circulaire, accompagnée de la publication d’un rapport sur le sujet en collaboration avec la Banque européenne d’investissement. Le pays a également accueilli, deux ans plus tard, un événement de trois jours intitulé Circular Economy Hot Spot, lequel visait à présenter des projets pilotes à quelque 200 délégués du monde entier. Les visites d’État des Pays-Bas et de la Belgique, en 2018 et 2019, avaient pour thème principal l’économie circulaire.  

Collaboration transfrontalière

Des occasions comme celles-ci reflètent l’importance du dialogue avec nos partenaires clés. Depuis 2016, le Luxembourg participe à  une initiative rassemblant des entreprises, des universités et des organismes gouvernementaux de la Grande-Région. Conçue pour soutenir les entreprises du secteur des technologies environnementales, cette initiative, Greater Green, est cofinancée par le programme INTERREG de l’UE.

Greater Green couvre notamment l’économie circulaire et le recyclage, et vise à aider les PME de Rhénanie-Palatinat, de Sarre, de Lorraine, de Wallonie et du Luxembourg à créer de nouveaux produits et à accéder à de nouveaux marchés. Le fil conducteur de tous ses projets est l’innovation et la coopération transfrontalière. Plus largement, le Luxembourg souhaite également encourager les citoyens, les communes transfrontalières et les décideurs politiques à collaborer en vue d’élaborer des solutions communes aux défis posés par l’économie circulaire.

Dernière modification le